I am continually amazed at the amount of associated conditions that occur along with or due to celiac disease. In a July 2, 2010 publication of Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol, there is a study linking GERD to Celiac Disease. The study enlisted 133 adult celiac patients at the time of diagnosis of celiac disease and 70 healthy controls. Of the 133 celiac patients, 30% had moderate-to-severe gastroesophageal reflux (GERD) symptoms based on the Gastrointestinal Symptoms Rating Scale for heartburn and regurgitation domains. Only 5.7% of the control group were diagnosed with GERD. All 30% of the celiac patients with reflux demonstrated complete resolution of symptoms after 3 months on a strict gluten-free diet.

In my practice, reflux-type symptoms are one of the most common presenting complaints I see. This study begets the question , Do I screen my more refractory GERD patients for celiac disease based on their GERD alone? I do not have an answer for this as yet. However, I feel as if I am leaning in that direction.

 If you would like to read the abstract to the study, please visit http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20601132.

