A patient was accompanied by her mother to a recent office visit. Her mother brought me a book that she thought I would be interested in. I thanked her and thought to myself  “what more could this book have that the 50 other books I have read on celiac disease didn’t?” I should know by now that someone always knows more than me! So, I smugly opened the book figuring I would skim it, close it and shelve it. However, once I really started to read the book, I was amazed at how much it had to teach me. The book is called Recognizing Celiac Disease. The author is Cleo J. Libonati, RN, BSN with a forward by Dr. David M. Capuzzi, MD, PhD.

The book begins with an overview of the pathophysiology of celiac disease. There was not much here that most of us do not already know. The book then goes into pages upon pages of related conditions to celiac disease. For those who think this disease is some belly pain and diarrhea, think again. For 160 pages, the author expanded upon conditions with loose to strong associations to celiac disease. There were many conditions mentioned that I was unaware of and found to be fascinating. Conditions such as Cerebral Perfusion abnormalities, hemochromatosis (too much iron), vitiligo (loss of skin pigment), pulmonary hemosiderosis (bleeding into lungs that causes too much iron to accumulate) and many, many more that the author uncovered.

I found this book very helpful. Further, I believe it would be helpful to physicians who do not have as much knowledge of celiac disease. In this day and age, with more and more people being diagnosed, it would behoove everyone to learn more. This is a great place to start. The book is available online at www.glutenfreeworks.com. I hope all of you find it as interesting as I did.

