My family and I had the pleasure of dining at Palermo’s on 143rd Street and Wolf Road in Orland Park.

The restaurant has been open for several years, but only recently added several gluten-free dishes to its menu. Prior to our visit, the owner Adam Cisek, assured me that all possible routes of contamination have been eliminated. The pizza crust is homemade and the pastas used are either Scharr or Le Veneziane.  So, with the legwork done, all that was left was to go for dinner.

Palermo’s is tastefully decorated with true Italian ambiance. We were greeted warmly by the wait staff and by the owner himself. Adam was very gracious in allowing us to taste several appetizers, entrees, pizza and gelato. The food was wonderful, my favorite being the polenta/goat cheese appetizer. I know the polenta I make at home never tastes like this!

My kids really liked the gluten-free pizza . It is a thin crust with very tasty sauce and a bit larger than other gluten free pizzas in the south Chicago suburbs. My husband ordered the spaghetti del mar and I ordered the chicken balsamico. We both agreed that my dish was a bit better, although both were very good.
For dessert, gelato comes in many different flavors. We were able to sample espresso with chocolate chunks, raspberry with chocolate chunks, peppermint, cinnamon, and lemon italian ice. Each was more delicious than the next.

At the end of the meal, my children all yelled “We are definitely coming back!”

If you would like to visit Palermo’s website, please go to www.palermochicago.com. They’re creating new menus now and I’ll post a link to them when they’re available.

We were impressed with the thought and the care that Palermo’s put into this new gluten-free venture and encourage everyone to give them a visit. I know we’ll be back!

