A patient called me earlier today regarding an antibiotic, amoxicillin, prescribed to her by her dentist. Upon receiving the prescription,  the patient, being the good celiac that she is, called her local pharmacist to confirm that the drug was gluten-free. The pharmacist “double-checked” the ingredients and told her that the drug had wheat, barley, rye and oat in the inert ingredients as fillers. The pharmacist was asked if he was sure of his information, as those just happen to be all the same foods that we as celiac patients cannot have. He stated that he was aware of the restrictions in this condition and he was sure. This same patient then called asking me if there was another antibiotic that would be safe for her to take. At this point, I felt as if I were in a tunnel that was closing in around me.  How many times had I prescribed amoxicillin to my celiac patients without being sure it was gluten-free?  The research bell then went off in my head and the phone calls started. I spoke with a very helpful person at the FDA who gave me an even more helpful PUBLIC website to check on ingredients in drugs. The website is http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm  Once on the website, type in the drug in question. The site will then navigate to a page with a listing of every manufacturer making that drug, both brand and generic forms. Click on the formulation you would like to check and it will take you to the prescribing reference . Scroll down to the bottom of this page and there is a listing of every ingredient in the drug, both active and inert.

 To make a long story a bit shorter, absolutely no formulation of amoxicillin  listed had any gluten. But the whole saga was worth the time and energy to come upon this resource. Good luck!

